Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Ian Moss Biography

Ian Moss Biography

Ian Moss was born on 20th March 1955. He is an Australian rock musician from Alice Springs. He is the founding mainstay guitarist and occasional singer of Cold Chisel. In that group’s initial eleven year phase from 1973 to 1984, Moss was recorded on all five studio albums, three of which reached number one on the national Kent Music Report Albums Chart.

In August 1989, Ian Moss released his debut solo album, Matchbook, which peaked at number one on the ARIA Albums Chart. It was preceded by his debut single, “Tucker’s Daughter”, which reached number two on the related ARIA Singles Chart in March. The track was co-written by Moss with Don Walker, also from Cold Chisel. Moss had another top ten hit with Telephone Booth in June 1989.

Born and raised in Alice Springs, Ian started playing guitar in local teenage bands but moved to Adelaide after failing one of his high school years, planning to repeat in the big city. Fate intervened when he answered an advertisement for a guitarist in a shop window in 1973, joining the band that was to become a legend in Australia – Cold Chisel.

After Ian Moss joined organist and principal songwriter Don Walker and drummer Steve Prestwich, the group took shape with singer Jimmy Barnes and eventually bass player Phil Small, starting the hard grind of playing gigs on the back of flatbed trucks and in suburban hotels. Barnes remembered young Mossy as “a boy from the bush who didn’t wear shoes but played fantastic”. They hit the road and paid their dues, playing countless one-night stands across the country. The reputation and status of Cold Chisel steadily grew, mainly on the strength of blistering live shows and in time their well-crafted recordings became staples of radio airplay.

Ian Moss

Ian Moss

At the ARIA Music Awards of 1990 Ian Moss won five categories: Album of the Year, Best Male Artist, Breakthrough Artist – Album, Single of the Year and Breakthrough Artist – Single. Since then his solo music career has been more low-key, his other top 50 albums are Worlds Away, Let’s all Get Together and Soul on West 53rd. In 1993 Cold Chisel, with Moss as a member, were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame. Moss has participated with periodic Cold Chisel reunion tours or new studio albums in 1998, 2003 and from 2009 to 2012.

Ian Moss Wife

After divorce and death of his first wife actress Megan William, Ian Moss married Margeaux Rolleston.

Ian Moss Age

Ian Moss was born on 20th March 1955.

Ian Moss Songs

  1. Slip Away
  2. Angel Eyes
  3. Work to Do
  4. Janelle
  5. Poor Boy
  6. Never Before
  7. My Baby
  8. The Girl I Once Knew
  9. Catfish Blues
  10. Pretty Face
  11. Saturday Night
  12. Green River
  13. What Becomes of the Bro..
  14. Tangletown
  15. No Amount of Crying
  16. The Part’s Over
  17. Tucker’s Daughter
  18. Bow River
  19. Wen the War Is Over
  20. Choir Girl
  21. Telephone Booth
  22. Georgia on My Mind
  23. Flame Trees
  24. Love Will Carry Us Along
  25. All Alone on a Rock
  26. Out of the Fire
  27. Message From Baghdad
  28. Two Seconds Too Long
  29. Let’s All Get Together
  30. Such a Beautiful Thing
  31. Mr Rain
  32. Red Sand

Ian Moss – Video