Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Russell Morris Biography, Albums and Songs

Russell Morris

Russell Norman Morris is an Australian singer-songwriter who had five Australian Top 10 singles during the late 1960s and early 1970s. On 1 July 2008, the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) recognised Morris’ iconic status when he was inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame.

The past five years have been an incredible musical journey and privilege for Russell Morris who has been fortunate enough to create and release two albums of blues and roots music that pertains to some of the iconic characters, events and moments in our rich tapestry of Australian history. The two previous albums were produced by Mitch Cairns, with whom Russell works and creates harmoniously with.

The first album released was Sharkmouth. Sharkmouth was all about the urban back blocks and the characters that inhabited them. Mostly based around the depression years and a bit either side. Set out to paint a landscape of how many people must have felt in those times around the early 1900’s. Sharkmouth went on to be the highest selling Australian album of 2013, picking up an ARIA Award for best Blues and Roots, reaching number 1 in the charts and surpassing Platinum sales. A very unexpected but welcomed success.

The following album was Van Diemen’s Land which had a focus on larger events rather than individuals, from the prison ships that began Australia as a penal settlement to the union strikes, the First and Second World Wars as well as paddle steamers on the Murray River. Van Diemen’s Land was nominated for Best Blues and Roots at the 2014 ARIA Awards, certified Gold sales and was the highest charting album of Russell’s 50 year career to date debuting at No.4 on the overall ARIA Charts.

Russell Morris has now arrived at the third and final album in the series of Australian stories. Also produced by Mitch Cairns, this album is titled “Red Dirt – Red Heart” and the name belies its subject matter – The Australian Interior. Any history of Australia albeit, very brief, has to include the people who have inhabited this wonderful country for at least 40,000 years. Stories of two bushrangers, a song about a beautiful town, a song about a loner, a recluse and an escape artist, a snake and the spectacular Nullabour. Also included is some of our great indigenous heroes in the hope that we can share their stories.

Russell Morris

Russell Morris

Russell Morris Albums

  1. Bloodstone
  2. Russell Morris
  3. Turn It On
  4. Foot in the Door
  5. Almost Frantic
  6. A Thousand Suns
  7. Off the Shelf
  8. Fundamentalist
  9. Live at the Con
  10. Jumpstart Diary
  11. Wild Bulls and Horses
  12. Sharkmouth
  13. Van Diemens Land
  14. Red Dirt – Red Heart

Russell Morris Songs

  1. Black Dog Blues
  2. The Big House
  3. Ballad of Les Darcy
  4. Bout to Break
  5. Sharkmouth
  6. Walk My Blues
  7. The Drifter
  8. Squizzy
  9. The Bridge
  10. Money Don’t Grow on Trees
  11. Big Red
  12. Mr Eternity
  13. Hide & Seek (Somebody’s Image )
  14. Real Thing
  15. Part 3 Into Paper Walls
  16. Only A Matter of Time
  17. Girl That I Love
  18. You On My Mind
  19. Boom Town
  20. Rachel
  21. Mr. America
  22. Sweet, Sweet Love
  23. Live With Friends
  24. O Helly
  25. Jail Jonah’s Daughter
  26. Alcohol Farm
  27. Wings of An Eagle
  28. Hide; Seek (Somebody’s Image)
  29. The Real Thing
  30. Part 3 into Paper Walls
  31. Only a Matter of Time
  32. Girl That I Love
  33. You on My Mind
  34. Boom Town
  35. Rachel
  36. Mr. America
  37. Sweet, Sweet Love
  38. Live with Friends
  39. O Helly
  40. Jail Jonah’s Daughter
  41. Alchohol Farm
  42. Wings of an Eagle