Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Andrea Jürgens Biography, Career, Albums, Awards , Spouse and Death

Andrea Jürgens Biography

Andrea Elisabeth Maria Jürgens was a German schlager singer born on 15th of May 1967. She became famous as a child star in the late 1970s when she had her first hit with “Und dabei liebe ich euch beide” “And Yet I Love You Both” at age 10. She has been active in the music business ever since with more than 60 single releases. Andrea Jürgens is the daughter of Margret and Heinz Jürgens, and was born in Wanne-Eickel, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany.

Andrea Jürgens Career

She performed her debut hit “Und dabei liebe ich euch beide” in her very first television appearance which took place in the ARD-Silvestergala on New Year’s Eve of 1977/1978. The song was written by Jack White and Jon Athan. Its lyrics address the post-divorce situation from a child’s perspective. Further appearances on various television and radio shows followed. In the March 1978 Andrea Jürgens was the viewers’-choice winner on ZDF-Hitparade, a television show conducted by Dieter Thomas Heck.

In 1978 ,during the fall, the follow-ups to the debut hit were released. “Ich zeige Dir mein Paradies” (I’ll Show You My Paradise) and “Tina ist weg” (Tina’s Run Away), together with her success in the so-called hit parades concluded Andrea Jürgens’ position as the first big child star in Germany since Heintje. In 1979 she gained further success with “Ein Herz für Kinder” (A Heart For Children) and “Eine Rose für dich” (A Rose For You).

In October 1979 the Christmas album Weihnachten mit Andrea Jürgens was published. Its sales exceeded 1,5 million copies in just three months. Consequently, the album achieved multiple gold records and double platinum. The album included the single “Aba Heidschi Bumbeidschi”, a traditional lullaby.

Jürgens’ commercial success continued in a smaller scale in the early 1980s. The folk music album Andrea Jürgens singt die schönsten deutschen Volkslieder was released in 1981. Her next single hits were “Mama Lorraine” in 1981, “Japanese Boy”in 1981, and “Playa Blanca”in the year 1984 . Like “Manuel Goodbye”in the year 1983, “Playa Blanca” was originally sung in English by Audrey Landers. Jack White produced the German versions for Andrea Jürgens.

The albums Solang’ ein Mädchen träumen kann “As Long as a Girl Can Dream” in 1982  and Weil wir uns lieben “Because We Love Each Other” in 1984, were not chart busters like their predecessors. In the latter half of the decade, no new studio albums were released. However, she released some singles, e.g. “Ciao ciao amore” and a “Best Of” compilation which was published in 1987.

Her next albums, Küsse der Nacht (Kisses of the Night) and Liebe (Love), were released in the early 1990s. The album Ich krieg’ nie genug von dir (I Never Get Enough of You) was released in 1993. Once again, it included a song originally interpreted by Audrey Landers, namely “Guten Morgen Sonnenschein” (Good Morning Sunshine). In 1996 Jürgens recorded the single “Wir greifen nach den Sternen” (We Reach For the Stars) together with the Nockalm Quintett. The song was included in the album Wenn ich glücklich bin (1996), the opening track of which is the German cover version of Madonna’s hit “You’ll See”, “Du wirst sehen”.

Jürgens celebrated her 25-year singing career,in 2002. The anniversary was celebrated by publishing the jubilee album Dankeschön zum 25jährigen Bühnenjubiläum. In the new century she changed her record company from BMG to KOCH. Lust aufs Leben (Love of Life) (2005) was her first studio album under the new label. Jack White and Peter Wagner had been the producers of Jürgens’ albums during her BMG-years, Mr White often mentioned as the executive producer on the album cover. In KOCH her producer has been Alfons Weindorf.

Andrea Jürgens Photo

Andrea Jürgens Photo

Her early albums were published in a non-plastic CD-box in 2006 by White Records. The albums are: Ich zeige dir mein Paradies (I’ll Show You My Paradise), Eine Rose schenk ich dir…und dieses Lied (I Give You a Rose … and This Song), Irgendwann wird jedes Mädchen mal 17 (Every Girl Turns 17 Sometime), Mama Lorraine and Solang’ ein Mädchen träumen kann (As Long as a Girl Can Dream), each with original cover artwork.

Her new album Millionen von Sternen was released in March 2016, including the singles Millionen von Sternen, Das reicht für mehr als eine Nacht and Déjà vu.

Andrea Jürgens Awards

Jürgens was awarded various national music prizes. She achieved many silver, gold and platinum records for her singles and albums. The album Weihnachten mit Andrea Jürgens (Christmas with Andrea Jürgens) has achieved multiple gold and platinum. It has been commercially available throughout the year since its first publication. In 1982 and 1983, Jürgens was granted the Goldene Stimmgabel (Golden Tuning Fork).

Andrea Jürgens Albums

  1. Millionen von Sternen
  2. Weil wir uns lieben
  3. Küsse der Nacht
  4. Weihnachten mit Andrea Jürgens
  5. Komm in meine Träume
  6. Dankeschön: Zum 25. Bühnenjubiläum
  7. Wenn ich glücklich bin
  8. Verbotene Träume
  9. Ich Krieg Nie Genug Von Dir
  10. Irgendwann wird jedes Mädchen mal 17
  11. Lust aufs Leben
  12. Ich hab’ nur ein Herz
  13. Liebe
  14. Momente
  15. Mama Lorraine
  16. Solang ein Mädchen träumen kann
  17. Wunschkonzert
  18. Eine Rose schenk ich dir… …und dieses Lied
  19. Ich zeige dir mein Paradies
  20. Wir Tanzen Lambada
  21. Von Gestern bis Heute
  22. Du hast mir total gefehlt – 16 große Single-Hits
  23. Amore, Amore Ihre schönsten Lovesongs
  24. Die großen Erfolge
  25. Sonderedition Vol.1
  26. Das Beste
  27. Nur das Beste: Die großen Erfolge 1983 – 2000
  28. Ich find’ Schlager toll
  29. 40 Jahre – Die Andrea Jürgens Collection
  30. Das Beste – Ein Kinderstar wird 50
  31. Eine Rose schenk ich dir… und dieses Lied
  32. Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht

Andrea Jürgens Spouse

She was married to Ralf Stiller in the years 1988 to 1994.

Andrea Jürgens Death

She fell in a coma as a result of a double kidney-failure and died on 20 July 2017.

Andrea Jürgens Video

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.