Brymo Biography

Olawale Ashimi also Olawale Olofo’ro and popularly known as Brymo, is a Nigerian singer, songwriter and composer. He was born on 9 May 1986 in Okokomaiko, Ojo, Lagos State, to an Awori carpenter father and an Egun petty trader mother. He is the only child of his parents.

He went to Aganju Aka Primary School and later enrolled at Japual Primary School. Brymo gained admission to Lagos State University (LASU), where he studied Zoology. He dropped out of LASU after his sophomore year to pursue a musical career.

In 1999, he recorded his first song while in secondary school and titled it “Future”. In 2002, Brymo and a few of his friends formed a group called The Aliens. Between 2004 and 2005, the group started having problems and eventually disbanded in 2005. Brymo was inspired to create music after listening to his mother sing along to numerous fuji songs.


In 2010, Brymo received a call from Denrele Edun, whom he met few years earlier. Edun asked him if he knew M.I and told him that the rapper was interested in having a discussion with him. In 2010, Brymo got signed to Chocolate City after sitting down with M.I. Prior to his record deal with Chocolate City, he collaborated with Jesse Jagz on the song “Love You” which appeared on the rapper’s debut studio album, Jag of All Tradez (2011).

Brymo’s music is a mixture of fuji, R&B, pop and rock. In an interview, he said his music can easily be called pop due to its ability of getting across to the people. Brymo’s Merchants, Dealers & Slaves and Tabula Rasa albums have addressed social injustice and chaos that are prevalent in Nigerian society. In a 2016 interview with OkayAfrica, Brymo was quoted as saying: “Although my songs reflect many issues which are relevant in my society, I believe that human relations is the site where all issues emerge.”

Brymo Son

Brymo has a son named Waju Ashimi, born 27 March 2015.


  • Brymstone – 2007
  • TheSonOfaKapenta – 2012
  • Merchants, Dealers & Slaves – 2013
  • Tabula Rasa – 2014
  • Klĭtôrĭs – 2016
  • Trance – 2015

Brymo Songs

  • Good Morning
  • Fe Mi
  • Down
  • 1 Pound
  • Ara
  • Good Morning
  • Prick No Get Shoulder
  • Eko
  • Omoge Campus
  • If You Were Mine
  • Je’le O Sinmi
  • Go Hard
  • Ara (Remix)
  • Something Good Is Happening
  • Dear Child
  • Akara
  • 1986
  • Nothing’s Ever Promised Tomorrow…
  • L-O-V-E U (feat. Brymo)
  • Naked (feat. Esse)
  • After Party (feat. Brymo)
  • Truthfully
  • Alajọ Ṣomolu
  • Again
  • Back to Love
  • See Me
  • Life Is 2 Short
  • When You Fall (MoveAndDream)
  • Duro
  • Your Love
  • Billion Naira Dream
  • Cheap Wine
  • Dem Dey Go
  • Grand Pa
  • M.anifest
  • Happy Memories
  • Now Now (feat. Jesse Jagz)
  • Jungle Fever
  • Se Bo’timo
  • Never Look Back
  • Chocolate (feat. Pryse, Iceprince, M.I & Jesse Jagz)
  • Alone
  • The Girl from New York
  • Everyone Gets to Die
  • Ko Ṣ’aya Mi
  • Goodbye (feat. Brymo)
  • Let’s Make Love
  • Money Ft. David
  • Waka Waka
  • Purple Jar
  • Mirage
  • Dear Titilope
  • M, D & S
  • Rendezvous (Interlude)
  • Waka Waka
  • Good Morning
  • Let’s Make Love
  • Viva
  • The Girl from New York
  • Kosayami
  • Alajo Somolu
  • Them Dey G
  • Happy Memories
  • Something Good Is Happening,
  • Mirage
  • Billion Naira Dream,
  • Let’s Make Love
  • The Way the Cookie Crumbles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.