Passenger Biography

Passenger (Michael David Rosenberg) was born on 17th May 1984 in Brighton, East Sussex, England. He is an English singer-songwriter and musician.

Passenger Early Life and Career

Passenger learned guitar at a young age and at the age of 14- 15 years he began writing songs. He worked as a chef and spent his spare time on writing music and practicing guitar. Rosenberg left school at the age of 16 to pursue a career in the music industry and spent the next few years as a busker in England and Australia.

In 2001 his father introduced him to ex-Faithless member Jamie Catto leading to a two-song spot at the Free Burma Campaign benefit gig at the Royal Court in London in 2002.On that night he met his future writing partner Andrew Phillips and established contact with the IE Music label. Back in Brighton, Phillips and Rosenberg pooled their musical influences (from Simon And Garfunkel to DJ Shadow), and started to write songs at Phillips’ in-house studio in Hove. In 2003 they formed the Mike Rosenberg Band engaging Marcus O’Dair (bass), Alon Cohen (drums) and Richard Brinklow (keyboards) through connections within the Brighton music scene.

Passenger Band

In 2003 he founded ‘Passenger’ with Andrew Phillips and Hove. The name of the band was stylised as /Passenger. (with a slash at the beginning and a dot at the end).

The band consisted of Michael Rosenberg, Marcus O’Dair (bass), Alon Cohen (drums) and Richard Brinklow (keyboards). In 2007 they released their debut and only album ‘ Wicked Man’s Rest’. The band broke up in 2009.

Rosenberg kept the stage-name Passenger and took to busking for a solo music career. He first took his act in October 2009 to Australia, where he supported acts such as Lior and Sydneysiders Elana Stone and Brian Campeau, and then played One Movement, a major music industry-focus festival in Perth.

In 2009 he released his debut solo album, ‘Wide Eyes Blind Love’. He released his follow up album, ‘Flight of the Crow’ in 2010.

Passenger Album

  • 2007: Wicked Man’s Rest- with the band
  • 2009: Wide Eyes Blind Love
  • 2010: Divers & Submarines
  • 2010: Flight of the Crow
  • 2012: All the Little Lights
  • 2014: Whispers
  • 2015: Whispers II
  • 2016: Young as the Morning Old as the Sea
  • 2017: The Boy Who Cried Wolf

Passenger Songs

  • Let Her Go
  • Heart’s On Fire
  • The Wrong Direction
  • Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea
  • Life’s for the Living
  • Anywhere
  • Holes
  • Beautiful Birds
  • Somebody’s Love
  • When We Were Young
  • Home
  • If You Go
  • Scare Away the Dark
  • Golden Leaves
  • Keep On Walking
  • All the Little Lights
  • The Long Road
  • Riding To New York
  • And I Love Her
  • Feather On the Clyde
  • Coins In A Fountain
  • The Boy Who Cried Wolf
  • Everything
  • Staring At the Stars
  • Sweet Louise
  • Things That Stop You Dreaming
  • Patient Love
  • Walls
  • Flight Of The Crow
  • Shape of Love
  • Catch in the Dark
  • Fool’s Gold