Inspire. Inform. Involve.  

Dan Hill Biography,Career,Albums and Personal Life

Dan Hill Biography

Daniel Grafton “Dan” Hill IV is a Canadian pop singer and songwriter,born 3 June 1954. He had two major international hits with his songs “Sometimes When We Touch” and “Can’t We Try”, a duet with Vonda Shepard, as well as a number of other charting singles in Canada and the United States. 

Hill was born in Toronto, the son of social scientist and public servant Daniel G. Hill, and brother of the author Lawrence Hill and the late novelist Karen Hill. He studied guitar in his teens, leaving high school at 17 to work as songwriter for RCA. At one point he was working for the Ontario provincial government, delivering office supplies, while performing at the Riverboat at night.

Dan Hill Career

In the year 1975, he released his first album, Dan Hill, which produced a Canadian hit single, “You Make Me Want to Be”.In 1977 Hill recorded the ballad “Sometimes When We Touch”. He also wrote the lyrics and was assisted in the music by Barry Mann for the album from the same year, Longer Fuse, and it was released as a single. It was Hill’s biggest hit, peaking at #3 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 and #1 on the Canadian RPM Singles chart, and leading to Hill’s appearances on The Merv Griffin Show and The Mike Douglas Show. Tina Turner covered the song in 1978 on her album Rough.

Another one of his hit songs was “It’s a Long Road”, which he recorded for the 1982 action movie First Blood. In the year 1985, he was one of the many Canadian performers to appear on the benefit single “Tears Are Not Enough” by Northern Lights. Although he had many hits in his native Canada, further singles did not fare as well in the United States, where, after “Let the Song Last Forever” in late 1978, he went almost a decade without cracking any of Billboard’s singles charts.

In 1987, Hill returned to the Billboard Hot 100 with the Top 40 hit “Can’t We Try”, a duet with the then-unknown Vonda Shepard (her last name was incorrectly spelled “Sheppard” on the label). It peaked at No. 6 on the Hot 100. He also had a near Top 40 hit with “Never Thought (That I Could Love)”. Both records reached #2 on the Adult Contemporary chart and set the stage for Hill to have three more top 10 U.S. AC hits through 1991’s “I Fall All Over Again,” though he did not make the Hot 100 again after “Never Thought (That I Could Love).”

A road trip to a Hill concert was the subject of the 1994 Canadian comedy film, South of Wawa.In 2007 he toured with the CBC Radio program The Vinyl Cafe. Hill was a lifelong friend of writer Paul Quarrington, and the two also occasionally performed together as a folk music duo, billed as Quarrington/Hill.The pair’s final collaboration, a song about death called “Are You Ready”, was completed just ten days before Quarrington’s death in early 2010, and will be featured in a forthcoming television documentary, Paul Quarrington: Life in Music.

Dan Hill Personal life

His wife is lawyer Beverly Chapin-Hill, with whom he wrote the songs “Can’t We Try” and “(Can This Be) Real Love”.Some sources have incorrectly stated that he was married to American country singer Faith Hill whose surname comes from her first marriage to an unrelated Nashville record executive also named Daniel Hill.

Hill wrote an article in the 14 February 2008 edition of Maclean’s entitled “Every Parent’s Nightmare”, about the terror he experienced from friends his son brought home. On 14 March 2008, CBC Television’s The National aired an in-depth interview with Hill discussing his son’s involvement with Toronto gangs.In early 2009, Hill published I Am My Father’s Son: A Memoir of Love and Forgiveness (ISBN 978-1-55468-190-7) which recounts his childhood.Hill is the brother of novelists Lawrence Hill and Karen Hill.

Dan Hill Photo

Dan Hill Photo

Dan Hill Albums

  1. 1975 – Dan Hill
  2. 1976 – Hold On
  3. 1977 – Longer Fuse
  4. 1978 – Frozen in the Night
  5. 1980 – If Dreams Had Wings
  6. 1981 – Partial Surrender
  7. 1983 – Love in the Shadows
  8. 1987 – Dan Hill
  9. 1989 – Real Love
  10. 1991 – Dance of Love
  11. 1994 – Let Me Show You (Greatest Hits and More)
  12. 1996 – I’m Doing Fine
  13. 1999 – Love of My Life (The Best of Dan Hill)
  14. 2010 – Intimate

Dan Hill Singles

  1. 1975 “You Make Me Want to Be”
  2. Dan Hill (1975)
  3. “Growin’ Up”
  4. 1976 “You Say You’re Free”
  5. “Hold On”
  6. 1977 “Phonecall”
  7. “Sometimes When We Touch”
  8. 1978 “All I See Is Your Face”
  9. Frozen in the Night
  10. “Let the Song Last Forever”
  11. “On the Dark Side of Atlanta”
  12. 1979 “(Why Did You Have to Go and) Pick on Me”                      –
  13. 1980 “I Still Reach for You”
  14. 1981 “Don’t Give Up on Love”
  15. 1982 “I’m Just a Man”
  16. 1983 “Love in the Shadows”
  17. 1984 “Helpless”
  18. 1984 “You Pulled Me Through”
  19. 1987 “Can’t We Try” (w/ Vonda Shepard)
  20. “Never Thought (That I Could Love)”
  21. 1988 “Carmelia”
  22. 1989 “Why Do We Always Hurt The Ones We Love”
  23. “Unborn Heart”
  24. “Wishful Thinking” (w/ Celine Dion)
  25. 1991 “I Fall All Over Again”

Dan Hill Video